22 years PPE manufacturing - OEM/ODM - Quote in 24 hours - Global shipping

Compliance Tool · Free

Safety Footwear Label Decoder

Paste a marking with its standard and year to interpret supported codes, identify edition conflicts and flag unknown text.

Paste the label

Try:

This explains label text only. Verify the model, edition, declaration of conformity and test reports before purchasing; this tool does not validate certification.

Decoded 5 codes

  • S3

    Safety class 3

    EN ISO 20345:2022 · EN ISO 20345 class

    S2 plus penetration resistance with a metal insert and a cleated outsole under the 2022 edition.

  • SR

    Additional slip resistance (2022)

    EN ISO 20345:2022 · EN slip resistance

    Optional additional test on ceramic tile with glycerol. Basic slip resistance is normally required without an SR marking.

  • HRO

    Heat-resistant outsole

    EN ISO 20345:2022 · EN additional code

    Outsole hot-contact resistance under the standard test; not a safe workplace exposure temperature.

  • CI

    Cold insulation

    EN ISO 20345:2022 · EN additional code

    Cold insulation of the sole complex.

  • M

    Metatarsal protection

    EN ISO 20345:2022 · EN additional code

    EN additional protection for the top of the foot. ASTM M has a different meaning.

Reference coverage and sources

References checked 3 October 2026. Coverage: EN ISO 20345:2011 and :2022; selected ASTM F2413-18/-24 markings. Unsupported editions and unfamiliar tokens remain unresolved. No certification or regulatory approval is verified.

ASTM F2413 vs EN ISO 20345

These standards use different tests and marking systems. Select footwear against your workplace hazards and local requirements, and verify evidence for the exact model. A decoded label is not a certification check.

PropertyEN ISO 20345 (EU)ASTM F2413 (US)
Standard editions2011 and 2022 use different markingsF2413-24 is active; F2413-18 is historical (checked 2026-10-03)
Toe protection200 J impact and 15 kN compression; does not specify materialDifferent test methods; confirm edition and report
Penetration resistance2022: metal P; non-metal PL (4.5 mm nail) or PS (3.0 mm)PR; not directly equivalent to EN codes
MetatarsalM means metatarsal protectionMt means metatarsal; M means male footwear designation
Electrical propertiesA is antistatic; C partly conductive; neither is insulationEH is secondary shock resistance; CD and SD serve different purposes
Slip resistance2011: SRA/SRB/SRC; 2022: basic test normally unmarked, optional SR, exception ØRequest separate model-specific slip evidence
Water resistanceUpper: WRU (2011), WPA (2022). Whole footwear: WRRequest separate model-specific water-resistance evidence

EN ISO 20345 protection classes

The summaries below use the 2022 edition. The decoder distinguishes 2011 where the printed header provides that year. Class codes do not specify toecap material; additional codes describe further requirements.

ClassNameWhat it covers
SBSafety basicProtective toecap tested at 200 J impact and 15 kN compression, with basic safety-footwear requirements. This code does not specify toecap material.
S1Safety class 1SB plus closed heel, antistatic properties (A) and heel energy absorption (E). FO is additional in 2022.
S1PS1 with PS1 plus penetration resistance with a metal insert under the 2022 edition.
S1PLS1 with PL (2022)S1 plus non-metal penetration-resistant insert tested with a 4.5 mm nail.
S1PSS1 with PS (2022)S1 plus non-metal penetration-resistant insert tested with a 3.0 mm nail.
S2Safety class 2S1 plus upper water penetration and absorption resistance (WPA); not whole-footwear water resistance.
S3Safety class 3S2 plus penetration resistance with a metal insert and a cleated outsole under the 2022 edition.
S3LS3 with PL (2022)S2 plus cleated outsole and non-metal insert tested with a 4.5 mm nail.
S3SS3 with PS (2022)S2 plus cleated outsole and non-metal insert tested with a 3.0 mm nail.
S4Safety class 4All-rubber or all-polymeric footwear with basic requirements, closed heel, antistatic properties and heel energy absorption.
S5Safety class 5S4 plus penetration resistance with a metal insert and cleated outsole under the 2022 edition.
S5LS5 with PL (2022)S4 plus cleated outsole and non-metal insert tested with a 4.5 mm nail.
S5SS5 with PS (2022)S4 plus cleated outsole and non-metal insert tested with a 3.0 mm nail.
S6Safety class 6 (2022)S2 plus whole-footwear water resistance (WR). Laboratory water resistance is not an unlimited waterproof guarantee.
S7Safety class 7 (2022)S3 plus whole-footwear water resistance (WR).
S7LS7 with PL (2022)S3L plus whole-footwear water resistance (WR).
S7SS7 with PS (2022)S3S plus whole-footwear water resistance (WR).

EN additional requirement codes

Add-on codes extend the baseline class — for example, an S3 HRO CI boot adds heat-resistant outsole (HRO) and cold insulation (CI) to the S3 specification.

CodeMeaningTest requirement
PPenetration resistance2022: metal insert with a 4.5 mm test nail. The 2011 P code does not distinguish insert materials.
PLNon-metal penetration resistance (2022)Non-metal insert with a 4.5 mm test nail; not a replacement for a metal insert code.
PSNon-metal penetration resistance (2022)Non-metal insert with a 3.0 mm test nail. Do not assume equivalence to PL or ASTM PR.
AAntistaticElectrical resistance controlled to reduce static buildup. Not electrical insulation.
CPartly conductivePartly conductive footwear; not electrical insulation.
EHeel energy absorptionEnergy absorption of the seat region.
FOFuel oil resistanceFuel oil resistance of the outsole; optional additional requirement in 2022.
WRWhole-footwear water resistanceWhole-footwear water resistance under the stated edition test; not an unlimited waterproof guarantee.
WRUUpper water resistance (2011)Upper water penetration and absorption resistance; replaced by WPA in 2022.
WPAUpper water resistance (2022)Upper water penetration and absorption resistance; not whole-footwear WR.
HIHeat insulationHeat insulation of the sole complex.
CICold insulationCold insulation of the sole complex.
HROHeat-resistant outsoleOutsole hot-contact resistance under the standard test; not a safe workplace exposure temperature.
MMetatarsal protectionEN additional protection for the top of the foot. ASTM M has a different meaning.
ANAnkle protectionAnkle impact protection.
CRUpper cut resistanceCut resistance of the upper.
SCScuff-cap abrasion resistance (2022)Abrasion resistance of an optional overcap; not a slip code.
LGLadder grip (2022)Additional outsole ladder-grip requirement.

Slip resistance codes

EN ISO 20345:2022 removed SRA/SRB/SRC. Basic slip testing normally has no marking; SR is an optional additional test on ceramic tile with glycerol. Specialised footwear that cannot be tested may carry Ø. Legacy codes belong to the 2011 system.

CodeSurface / contaminant
SRACeramic tile with SLS (2011). Legacy ceramic-tile slip test with sodium lauryl sulphate solution.
SRBSteel with glycerol (2011). Legacy steel-floor slip test with glycerol.
SRCBoth SRA and SRB (2011). Both legacy slip tests. SRC is not a 2022 marking or a direct ranking against SR.
SRAdditional slip resistance (2022). Optional additional test on ceramic tile with glycerol. Basic slip resistance is normally required without an SR marking.
ØSlip test exception (2022). Slip testing cannot be performed for this specialised footwear, such as footwear with spikes.

ASTM F2413 section codes

Read the printed ASTM F2413 edition alongside footwear designation (M or F), impact/compression markings and additional protections. ASTM lists F2413-24 as active and F2413-18 as historical. Legacy /75 formats should be checked against the model report and stated edition.

CodeMeaningDetail
MMen’s footwear designationASTM M identifies male footwear sizing/designation, not EN metatarsal protection.
FWomen’s footwear designationASTM F identifies female footwear sizing/designation.
IToe impact resistanceImpact protection marking; confirm the edition and model test report.
CToe compression resistanceCompression protection marking; confirm the edition and model test report.
I/75Legacy toe impact rating75 ft·lbf toe impact rating format; label text alone does not verify certification.
C/75Legacy toe compression rating2,500 lbf toe compression rating format; confirm the edition and model report.
MtMetatarsal protectionASTM metatarsal protection marking, distinct from M.
Mt/75Legacy metatarsal ratingLegacy metatarsal impact rating format; confirm the edition and report.
PRPuncture resistanceFootwear-bottom puncture resistance; not automatically equivalent to EN P, PL or PS.
EHElectrical hazardSecondary electric shock resistance under test conditions. Not primary live-line insulation; wetness, wear and damage can reduce protection.
SDStatic dissipativeStatic dissipative footwear; confirm category and resistance range in the model report.
SD10Static dissipative category 10Edition-specific category; confirm in the model report.
SD35Static dissipative category 35Edition-specific category; confirm in the model report.
SD100Static dissipative category 100Edition-specific category; confirm in the model report.
CDConductiveConductive properties to reduce static accumulation. Not live electrical-contact protection.
DIDielectric insulationSpecialised dielectric insulation; confirm standard, report and intended use with the manufacturer.

How to read a safety boot label

Every certified safety boot carries its marking on the tongue, sidewall or inside-collar label. Here is how to read both formats at a glance.

EN ISO 20345 example

EN ISO 20345:2022
S3 SR HRO CI
Size 43
  • S3 — water-resistant upper, cleated outsole, penetration-resistant midsole
  • SR - optional ceramic tile and glycerol slip test
  • HRO - hot-contact outsole resistance under the test conditions
  • CI - cold insulation of the sole complex

ASTM F2413 example

ASTM F2413-18
M I/75 C/75
EH PR
Size 10 W
  • M — men's sizing
  • I/75 C/75 — 75 ft·lb impact + 2,500 lbf compression
  • EH — electrical hazard (18 kV secondary insulation)
  • PR — puncture-resistant midsole

Related buying guides

Guides for checking standards before buying

Use these pages to connect decoded labels with construction footwear requirements, OSHA context, and RFQ-level supplier checks.

Frequently asked questions

What does S3 SRC HRO mean on a safety boot?

For EN ISO 20345:2011, S3 includes a protective toecap, closed heel, antistatic properties, heel energy absorption, fuel oil resistance, upper water resistance, penetration resistance and a cleated outsole. SRC means both legacy slip tests; HRO indicates hot-contact outsole resistance. S3 does not require a steel toecap. SRC is not a 2022 marking.

What is the difference between S1, S2 and S3?

S1 adds closed heel, antistatic properties and heel energy absorption to the basic requirements. S2 adds upper water resistance; S3 adds penetration resistance and a cleated outsole. In 2011 these classes also include FO. In 2022 FO is additional, and S3 uses a metal insert; S3L and S3S identify non-metal inserts.

What is the difference between ASTM M and EN M?

In ASTM F2413 markings, M identifies male footwear designation; F identifies female footwear designation. ASTM metatarsal protection uses Mt. Under EN ISO 20345, M means metatarsal protection. Include the standard header to resolve this ambiguity.

What does EH stand for on work boots?

EH identifies secondary electric shock resistance under ASTM test conditions. It is not primary insulation for live-line work. Confirm the exact model report and manufacturer limits; wetness, wear and damage can reduce protection.

What changed in EN ISO 20345:2022?

SRA, SRB and SRC were removed. Basic slip resistance is normally required without a marking, while SR identifies an optional additional test with glycerol on ceramic tile; specialised footwear may use the exception symbol Ø. The edition distinguishes metal P and non-metal PL/PS inserts, replaces WRU with WPA, makes FO additional, and adds classes S6/S7 plus SC and LG requirements.

Does decoding a label verify certification?

No. Match the product model and edition to manufacturer documentation, applicable declarations of conformity, certificates and test reports. Confirm workplace hazards and local requirements with your safety team. An ASTM reference alone is not an independent certification or a notified-body identifier.

Is SRC or SR better for slip resistance?

They belong to different editions and use different test surfaces and procedures. SRC means both 2011 tests. SR is the optional 2022 ceramic-tile/glycerol test. Neither guarantees performance on every workplace surface; do not treat them as a direct ranking.

What do P, PL and PS mean?

In 2022, P means a metal insert tested with a 4.5 mm nail; PL means a non-metal insert tested with a 4.5 mm nail; PS means a non-metal insert tested with a 3.0 mm nail. In 2011, P did not make that material distinction. The codes do not establish equivalence to ASTM PR.

Need help sourcing compliant PPE?

Plan quantities with the PPE Budget Calculator, find your fit with the Safety Boot Size Guide, or prepare a tailored sourcing request with the AI Quote Assistant.